top of page

Our Champions Program


"CHAMPION" - a person can advocate for the needs of an animal

Our Champions program is designed to provide protection and care for the Standardbreds that have graudated through our adoption program. It ensures the long-term health and well-being of these beloved animals. 

The New Start Standardbreds Champion Representatives will be responsible for completing assessments on any horse that is in the program, whether in foster, or a graduate, on a scheduled timeline.


These assessments will be completed at the post-adoption time markings of;

    one month,

    four months,

    eight months,

    and then yearly for a period of three (3) years.


This is a total of six (6) assessments on a horse before ownership is transferred.

Champions will be be provided a one page explanation on exactly what each assessment should include, along with a one page scenario description to ensure consistent outcomes of each assessment completed. They will also be provided with a BCS scale listing, to provide consistency in weight and body condition reviews. 

Eligibility To Be A Champion

In order to become a Champion and be able to complete assessments, an individual must meet the following qualifications;

  • Must live in the province of Ontario

  • Have basic horse care and horse health knowledge

  • Be over the age of 18 years and have reliable transportation 

  • Take initiative to contact adopters and foster homes to schedule assessments

Champion Zones

Zone 1: Ottawa

Zone 2: Prescott & Glengarry

Zone 3: Lanark County/Leeds & Grenville

Zone 4: Renfrew County

Zone 5: Frontenac & Lennox & Addington

Zone 6: Nipissing

Zone 7: Hastings & Prince Edward County

Zone 8: Peterborough

Zone 9: Northumberland County

Zone 10: Haliburton

Zone 11: Kawartha Lakes

Zone 12: Muskoka

Zone 13: Durham 

Zone 14: Simcoe County

Zone 15: Dufferin & Wellington

Zone 16: York & Peel Regions

Zone 17: Grey & Bruce County

Zone 18: Halton & Hamilton

Zone 19: Niagara Region

Zone 20: Waterloo & Perth

Zone 21: Huron County

Zone 22: Oxford & Brant 

Zone 23: Norfolk & Haldimand

Zone 24: Middlesex & Elgin County

Zone 25: Lambton & Chatham-Kent

Zone 26: Essex County

Zone 27: Sudbury & Algoma

Zone 28: Cochrane

Zone 29: Thunder Bay

Zone 30: Kenora & Rainy River

Ontario Map

Map For Reference

Interested in being a Champion?

Thanks for your interest in our Champion program! Someone will be in touch ASAP with details.

bottom of page